Motivation and will power  – well the little that I have of it

Motivation and will power – even writing this post is using motivation that I am lacking on a Tuesday evening. I’ve been at work all day smashing out a months worth of bills in one day and trying not to eat the free garlic bread on the staff room table (which let me tell you takes a shit load of motivation in itself). So what is motivation and will power to me?

To me will power is going out on a Friday night and not drinking a gallon of wine like I usually do to the point where I end up on the toilet floor of the pub comfortably asleep on the toilet seat. My biggest downfall is most definitely wine lots and lots of wine and I haven’t had a drink in a reeeeeeaaallly long time,  I guess not being a fat bitch is my number one reason as to why I’m torturing myself! 

So let’s get into motivation. I joined the gym last week probably the 10th gym I’ve joined since turning 18 well not 10th but pretty close. At my brand spanking new gym they have les mills classes, now I’ve always been super reluctant to do one because who wants to be the one up the back of the room dying? Am I right or am I right! Anyway in a moment of madness I signed up for spin class….. at 6am in the morning!! So using all the motivation I had I set my alarm for 5.15am. 

My alarm is going off at this point I’m half asleep and ready to throw the fucking thing through the window (honestly I considered it), so I drag my lazy ass out of bed and get dressed half asleep may I add so I have no idea what the hell I look like. I drive myself to the gym cursing the whole way there still wondering why I’m awake at this god forsaken hour. Eventually I get to the gym and find a bike to sit on (by the way spin bike seats were made by the devil himself and they are in no way intended for comfort), it’s now 6am on the dot and the pretty Brazilian instructor who is taking the class starts cheering and “motivating” everyone to let her know how good they feel, well let me tell you miss Brazil ask me one more time how I feel and I will chuck my bottle at your smiling face. Then the music starts “let’s ride”, she shouts in her over the top happy Brazilian accent. 

6.45am the class is finished and wholly shit I feel amazing! Why did no one tell me about these classes before (well they did but as I said, dick up he back of the class). So I book spin for the rest of the week. And I go. And that my friends is motivation to me. 

Motivation and will power looks different on everyone, there is no one size fits all. Everyone does things differently. As long as you are doing something every day to improve your mind, body and soul then I’m super fucking proud of you. I want you to really remember that everyday you do something that helps you be the best version of yourself you can be I’m really really proud of you. 

Xoxo Hayley. 

Author: ketoishhayley

Hi! 👋🏻 I'm Hayley, I'm 22 years old going on 75 (well my body thinks I am) and I've decided to start a blog about my weight loss journey. I eat predominantly keto/paleo with the odd glass of wine to keep me from ripping out someone's throat out. I work in law and live in the beautiful Bay of Plenty in New Zealand.... no that's not Australia. So come along with me and share my trial and tribulations of which there will be many! And join me as I strive to be the healthiest and happiest version of

2 thoughts on “Motivation and will power  – well the little that I have of it”

Leave a comment